Panasiuk challenges Cox for mayor

Chris Clegg
South Peace News

Town of High Prairie Mayor Linda Cox is facing a challenge from current Councillor Brian Panasiuk in the race for the mayor’s chair in the Oct. 16 municipal election.

Meanwhile, the other five councillors are all seeking re-election. Donna Deynaka, Brian Gilroy, Michael Long, Arlen Quartly and Debbie Rose will be challenged by Ross Burgar, Aaron Klassen, Barry Sharkawi and Judy Stenhouse.

High Prairie voters will elect the mayor and six councillors.

Nomination day was Sept. 18 when candidates had to file papers and declare their intentions. All seven serving town members and all nine Big Lakes Country councillors are seeking re-election. It’s the first time every member has sought re-election.

Cox became mayor on Dec. 18, 2012 after defeating Michael Smith. She was re-elected in the municipal election on Oct. 21, 2013, after defeating Crystal Sekulich.

Panasiuk was elected to council in the 2013 election. He was one of six new councillors elected. It was his first election.

Deynaka, Long and Rose all won their seats in the 2013 election. It was also their first attempt to get elected locally.

Gilroy and Quartly, also both serving their first term, were elected in a byelection on Feb. 1, 2016, after defeating former councillors Jeff Burgar and James Waikle.

Klassen and Stenhouse are running for the first time. Ross Burgar has been defeated before while Sharkawi has also lost. Sharkawi also won, however, serving on council from 2010-13.

In Big Lakes County, four current councillors were not opposed and are elected by acclamation. Included are Reeve Ken Matthews in Gilwood/Triangle, Don Charrois in High Prairie East/Banana Belt, David Marx in Prairie Echo/Salt Prairie, and Ann Stewart in South Sunset House/Gilwood.

In Enilda/Big Meadow, Donald Bissell is challenging incumbent Ron Matula.

In Faust, Christopher Brown is challenging Robert Nygaard.

In Joussard, Angela Paul and Richard Simard are challenging incumbent Ed Podollan.

In Kinuso, Scott Astle is challenging incumbent Ken Killeen.

And in Grouard, incumbent Frank Sutherland faces a challenge from five opponents: Frank Chalifoux, Michael Courtoreille, Jesse Lamouche, Priscilla “Rudy” Sutherland, and Fern Welch.

In High Prairie School Division, Ward 2 – High Prairie, incumbents Joyce Dvornek and board chair Tammy Henkel face a challenge from Dustin Burgar, Barry Sharkawi and Adrian Wong. Voters elect two candidates.

In HPSD Ward 3 – Joussard, Lorrie Shelp faces incumbent Rudy Willier.

Elections also occur in the three area Metis settlements, where voters elect five candidates.

At East Prairie Metis Settlement, the candidates are Gaye Anderson, Shelly Auger, Douglas Bellerose, Ronald Bellerose, Marcel Desjarlais, Colette Duh, Charles Haggerty, Louis Haggerty, Violet Hag- gerty, Jesse Emard, Karen L’Hirondelle, Muriel L’Hirondelle, Wade L’Hirondelle, Peter Patenaude, Victor Prinz, Brian Supernault, Harry Supernault, Merle Supernault, Raymond Supernault and Lisa Marie Wilton.

In Gift Lake, the candidates are Edward B. Anderson, Jason W. Anderson, Leonard M. Anderson, Melvin Anderson, Teresa Anderson, Lester Calaheson, Kelly Cunningham, Glenn “Teeny” Laderoute, Donna Lakey, Dave L. Lamouche, Howard D. Shaw and Art Tompkins.

A candidate list was not released by Peavine Metis Settlement. When contacted by South Peace News, administration did not have permission to release the list.

Share this post