Let the games begin!

The Onoway Eagles won the title. Left-right are Janet Fairless, representing Hockey Alberta, and Onoway players Kaitlyn Erick, Erin Dewsnap, Kathryn Munt and Taylor Fergel.

The opening ceremonies for the 2017 Hockey Alberta Female Midget B Championships in High Prairie were held March 23 at the Sports Palace. The High Prairie Timberwolves hosted the 10-team tournament March 23-26, with teams from all over the province. Onoway won the title while the host Timberwolves were 1-3.

Municipal officials expressed words of welcome at the opening ceremonies on March 23. Left-right, are Town of High Prairie acting mayor Debbie Rose and Big Lakes County Reeve Ken Matthews, with MC Rod Hill.
Graduating midget players were specially recognized in the ceremonies. Left-right, are High Prairie players Sara Hill and Colbi Pratt.
RCMP officers stand with flagbearers. Left-right, are flagbearer Erica Glanville, 12, Const. Kayla Demont, Const. Kayla Dubowski, Const. Matthew MacMinn, and flagbearer Nevan Herr, 9.
Young girls sing the national anthem O Canada. Left-right, are Alexis Davies-Hunt, 6, Jewel Chalifoux, 9, Cassidy Davies-Hunt, 9, and Olivia Davies-Cunningham.

Share this post